Artsy Fartsy Carpentry Pics

When I work in the Carpenter’s Union they don’t have much use for artists. Getting maximum production daily in good, basic construction techniques is the goal.

When free to pursue my own muse I eagerly incorporate art into my projects. Injecting interest, creativity, amusement and (with any luck) fun into a job acknowledges our human psyche. Doing things in a pleasant fashion is my idea of success.

Recently I have been helping my friends at Smashing Pixels set up their new offices. Without stern adult supervision I have once again deviated from what is strictly necessary. First with the fabrication of a sound booth and secondly with mounting a 48″ flat screen TV in the board room.

Before

Before

I needed a good, solid, sound deadening door. So I found a good solid specimen of a used door from fine lineage.

opened up

opened up

First I opened it up so I could add sound insulation.

add frame

add frame

Next I added a frame to add some thickness so more sound deadening material would fit in it.

heavy skin with design lines

heavy skin with design lines

A heavy skin of particle board was trimmed to fit. Now to add some style.

routering out style sections.

routering out style sections.

Using the router to add some depth and dimension, dare I say, art.

installed

installed

After a great deal of router work, pounds of dust and a lot of stairs with locked doors at frequent intervals, the door is mounted.

painted and hardware installed

painted and hardware installed

It fit perfectly even though the frame and door had never met before. Seems I can measure.
Hopefully this will create an attitude of play and assist those recording themselves to get into role. Do you think people will see this room and get curious enough to ask about it?

the world is listening...

the world is listening…

A motivated bargain hunter, I found this suitable and sturdy mount for the 48″ flatscreen going into the office at a great price in a local store.

fully articulating mount

fully articulating mount

The big TV is HEAVY. It must be attached to wall studs. Many studs with many fasteners. The studs aren’t centered on the wall where I want the TV and the mount does not provide a large enough base for lots of screws. So I will bolt this to the wall and the mount to this.

wall mount fancy plywood with shelf

wall mount fancy plywood with shelf

The board standing in the middle is intended to hide wires and cords running between the screen and devices. See…

hidden wire slot

hidden wire slot

Also some minor shelf and wire loom action are hidden below the unit.

discreet place for adapters, wires, etc.

discreet place for adapters, wires, etc.

Here it is holding the TV, and the attention of all present 🙂

shhh, my show is on

shhh, my show is on

Leave a Reply

